The Hunter Hydrogen Roadmap sets out the region’s visionary plan to be Australia’s leading hydrogen hub and technology cluster, demonstrated by excellence in research, innovation, technology and education, production, use, export and employment participation across the hydrogen supply chain. 

The Roadmap was developed with industry, research and government. It translates State and national ambitions for hydrogen into a targeted set of actions in the Hunter to achieve a shared long-term vision for a thriving hydrogen economy.

The Hunter has already begun it’s journey towards this vision for hydrogen, with an engaged Hunter Hydrogen Taskforce setting out further actions required to unlock the opportunity, coordinate across projects, advocacy, oversight, and implementation of strategic enablers in the Roadmap. 

The Hunter Hydrogen Roadmap was developed and endrosed by the Hunter Hydrogen Taskforce on behalf of the Committee for the Hunter. The Committee will coordinate the Roadmap’s implementation. We acknowledge the Vice-Chancellor of University of Newcastle, Alex Zelinksy, in providing the leadership and resourcing to deliver this important strategy for the Hunter region.

Hunter Hydrogen Taskforce members include:

  • AGL
  • Ampcontrol
  • ANZ
  • Committee for the Hunter 
  • coNEXA Infrastructure Providers
  • Energy Estate
  • Engenicom
  • Fichtner Australia
  • Grattan Institute
  • Hunter Water
  • HunterNet
  • Ironbark Group
  • MCi Carbon
  • NewH2
  • Orica
  • Origin Energy
  • Port of Newcastle
  • University of Newcastle

For more information on the Roadmap or to get involved, contact Alice Thompson, CEO on 0490 688 125 or by using the webform at the bottom of this page.

For media enquiries please contact Chris Breaden on 0433 363 707 or email


Register your interest for membership

Fill out the form below and the Committee will be in contact.

2 + 1 =